This post is a continuation of the special feature on Perth by Lisa Dudzik. Perth, as the capital of Western Australia, is the seat of the Western Australian government. It is home to the Parliament of Western Australia, the Governor of Western Australia, and the Supreme Court of Western Australia.

Currently, Perth follows a type of parliamentary system also known as the Westminister system. This was modeled after the United Kingdom’s own government. The name Westminister is derived from the Palace of Westminster, which is the seat of the British parliament.

Before Perth became a British colony in the 1800s which eventually gave rise to the Westminister system we know today, Perth had an Aboriginal society. The Indigenous people of Perth were traditionally governed by a council of elders who discussed and made decisions similar to the set-up a corporate boardroom.

Perth Assembly

In the last elections held in 2013, the Liberal Party ended up winning 31 seats in the Legislative Assembly or lower house. This is against the Labor Party’s 21 seats and the National Party’s 7 seats. Meanwhile, the Legislative Council, or upper house, is also dominated by the Liberal Party with 16 out of the 36 seats, followed by the Labor Party with 11 seats, National Party with 5 seats, and the Green Party and Shooters, Farmers, and Fishers with 2 seats each.

Perth’s Government House

Perth Australia Government Building.
Perth GPO Building.

The first governor of Perth was Captain James Stirling who pitched the idea to build a colony in Western Australia to the British government. He and his family settled in the area known today as the Stirling Gardens and Supreme Court Gardens. The temporary building erected then served the succeeding governors until the present-day Government House was built. Now the Government House has been declared as a tourist spot; both the House itself and the gardens are usually open to the public for photo-taking and sightseeing.

For more updates from Lisa Dudzik about Perth, kindly visit again soon.